Indy 500 testing: Ericsson leads Castroneves in first session - Motor Informed

Indy 500 testing: Ericsson leads Castroneves in first session

After half an hour of the primary two-hour session for the Indy 500 veterans, Chip Ganassi Racing’s Ericsson sat on the prime of the velocity charts.

Having lapped the two.5-mile course in 40.1194s, 224.330mph, final yr’s Indy 500 winner was over one mile per hour away from Colton Herta of Andretti Autosport and Dale Coyne Racing’s David Malukas

One other former winner, Pagenaud was fourth for Meyer Shank Racing and was adopted by the quickest of the Penske drivers, Josef Newgarden, with 2008 winner Scott Dixon and 2018 winner Will Power

The primary warning of the session flew 45 minutes in for a observe inspection.

When motion resumed, two of the Ed Carpenter Racing vehicles – that of staff proprietor Carpenter and Conor Daly received good tows from Takuma Sato to leap into second and fourth respectively, with Pagenaud slotting between the 2. 

A second yellow flew with 45 minutes to go, once more for a observe inspection, and motion resumed 15 minutes later. 

Indy 500 winners, Marcus Ericsson, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Will Power, Simon Pagenaud, Alexander Rossi, Scott Dixon, Takuma Sato, Helio Castroneves, Tony Kanaan

Indy 500 winners, Marcus Ericsson, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Will Energy, Simon Pagenaud, Alexander Rossi, Scott Dixon, Takuma Sato, Helio Castroneves, Tony Kanaan

Picture by: Michael L. Levitt

With lower than 10 minutes left on the clock, Palou was capable of leap to second behind team-mate Ericsson, however Helio Castroneves denied Chip Ganassi a 1-2 end by setting a late 224.280mph lap in his Meyer Shank Racing-Honda.

One of the best Chevrolet-powered automotive was of Pesnke’s Scott McLaughlin, who was one other late improver as he jumped to fourth forward of Carpenter.

Final-minute laps from the likes of Palou, Castroneves and McLaughlin demoted Pagenaud to sixth forward of Dixon, who set his quickest time simply after the final yellow flag interval.

Herta dropped to ninth on the end, whereas the highest 10 was rounded off by Daly.

Penske pair Josef Newgarden and Will Energy completed almost two miles off Ericsson’s greatest effort in 11th and 12th respectively, simply forward of two of the three full-season Arrow McLaren entries pushed by Felix Rosenqvist and Pato O’Ward.

Pos Driver Crew Engine Time Hole Velocity
1 Marcus Ericsson Chip Ganassi Racing Honda 40.1194   224.330mph
2 Helio Castroneves Meyer Shank Racing Honda 40.1284 zero.0090 224.280mph
three Alex Palou Chip Ganassi Racing Honda 40.1628 zero.0434 224.088mph
four Scott McLaughlin Crew Penske Chevrolet 40.1848 zero.0654 223.965mph
5 Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet 40.2208 zero.1014 223.765mph
6 Simon Pagenaud Meyer Shank Racing Honda 40.2612 zero.1418 223.540mph
7 Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing Honda 40.2746 zero.1552 223.466mph
eight Colton Herta Andretti Autosport Honda 40.2849 zero.1655 223.409mph
9 David Malukas Dale Coyne Racing Honda 40.2883 zero.1689 223.390mph
10 Conor Daly Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet 40.3381 zero.2187 223.114mph
11 Josef Newgarden Crew Penske Chevrolet 40.3815 zero.2621 222.874mph
12 Will Energy Crew Penske Chervrolet 40.4326 zero.3132 222.593mph
13 Felix Rosenqvist Arrow McLaren Chevrolet 40.4468 zero.3274 222.515mph
14 Pato O‘Ward Arrow McLaren Chevrolet 40.4719 zero.3525 222.377mph
15 Rinus VeeKay Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet 40.5175 zero.3981 222.126mph
16 Takuma Sato Chip Ganassi Racing Honda 40.5384 zero.4190 222.012mph
17 Devlin DeFrancesco Andretti Honda 40.7387 zero.6193 220.920mph
18 Callum Ilott Juncos Hollinger Racing Chevrolet 40.7403 zero.6209 220.911mph
19 Santino Ferrucci AJ Foyt Chevrolet 40.8032 zero.6838 220.571mph
20 Christian Lundgaard Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda 40.8676 zero.7482 220.223mph
21 Jack Harvey Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda 40.8755 zero.7561 220.181mph
22 Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda 40.9705 zero.8511 219.670mph
23 Alexander Rossi Arrow McLaren Chevrolet 40.9992 zero.8798 219.516mph
24 Kyle Kirkwood Andretti Autosport Honda 41.1119 zero.8897 219.463mph
25 Romain Grosjean Andretti Autosport Honda 41.0287 zero.9093 219.359mph

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

KTM: “Needing to really feel necessary” has motivated Miller in MotoGP 2023
Yamaha’s as soon as main mild preventing for his MotoGP future
Pol Espargaro dominated out of MotoGP Italian GP as restoration continues
McLaughlin claims Grosjean conflict “destroyed” Detroit GP possibilities
Dixon: IndyCar Detroit GP winner could possibly be “final man standing”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *