IMSA Mid-Ohio: WTR heads Acura 1-2, Inception McLaren wins GTD - Motor Informed

IMSA Mid-Ohio: WTR heads Acura 1-2, Inception McLaren wins GTD

Albuquerque within the Wayne Taylor Racing Acura ARX-05 bought the leap on polesitter Sebastien Bourdais within the #01 Chip Ganassi Racing Cadillac DPi-V.R.

The turbocharged automotive pulled forward from Flip four with Jarvis tucking the Meyer Shank Racing Acura into third forward of the second Ganassi Cadillac fourth, forward of Tristan Vautier (JDC Miller Motorsports Caddy) and Tristan Nunez (Action Express Racing Caddy).

As they threaded by GTD site visitors on Lap 10, Bourdais muscled previous Albuquerque down the within at Flip 2 to seize the lead. Inside three laps, Bourdais had a lead of three seconds and the primary battles in school have been between Albuquerque and Jarvis for second, and Vautier and Nunez for fifth.

The latter pair pitted collectively off technique on Lap 21, in anticipation of a warning for a spun LMP3 automotive, however the little prototype bought going once more unassisted. Pipo Derani changed Nunez within the #31, however the automotive remained behind Vautier for a few laps earlier than Derani bought the cross accomplished down the within at Flip four.

The Albuquerque versus Jarvis battle was interrupted by pitstops for each whereas working 5.5s behind chief Bourdais. Ricky Taylor changed Albuquerque and Tom Blomqvist changed Jarvis, however the two Acuras departed some 5 seconds aside.

Bourdais’ cease by the Ganassi crew was excellent, and he ceded no time to Taylor initially, however a mixture of site visitors and a charging Taylor introduced the Cadillac’s benefit briefly beneath a second, earlier than Bourdais prolonged the margin again out to over 4 seconds. Blomqvist, in the meantime, chipped away at his deficit to Taylor and drew to inside 1.5s by Lap 50.

A primary full course warning prompted Bourdais to hit pitlane at hand off to Renger van der Zande, Taylor remained second forward of Blomqvist, Derani, Richard Westbrook who’d taken over the JDC Miller Cadillac, and Earl Bamber, who changed Lynn, within the curiously off-the-pace #02 Cadillac.

On the restart, Taylor was throughout van der Zande and so they ran aspect by aspect by Turns four and 5, and it was the Cadillac who got here off worst, spinning by the grass at Flip 6 after clipping the again of the WTR automotive. Race Management determined to not intervene, leading to an Acura 1-2, with Derani in third within the highest-placed Cadillac.

That didn’t final lengthy, nonetheless, as Blomqvist encountered GT and LMP3 site visitors. The MSR Acura misplaced out to each Derani and Bamber and dropped to fourth, selling a closing cease with 43 minutes remaining.

Ganassi reacted and whereas Westbrook bought forward of Bamber they emerged behind Blomqvist. WTR and AXR subsequently known as in Taylor and Derani respectively, however Blomqvist’s cost on new tyres had produced quickest lap and meant Derani got here out behind the MSR machine.

As soon as van der Zande stopped the #01 CGR Caddy, he emerged final in school, so Taylor now led Blomqvist by 5.6s, with Derani three.4s additional again, nicely forward of Westbrook’s battle with Bamber and van der Zande. 

Taylor held agency within the closing phases to take the chequered flag from Blomqvist by 2.1s, with Derani 15s additional again and 20s forward of the Ganassi pair.

#81 DragonSpeed USA Oreca LMP2 07: Henrik Hedman, Juan Pablo Montoya

#81 DragonSpeed USA Oreca LMP2 07: Henrik Hedman, Juan Pablo Montoya

Picture by: Richard Dole / Motorsport Images

DragonSpeed claimed the LMP2 class regardless of late drama that resulted within the Henrik Hedman/Juan Pablo Montoya entry receiving a drive-through penalty. 

Former System 1 driver Montoya had caught the main PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports Oreca, pushed by Jonathan Bomarito, who was held up by a LMP3 competitor.  

The Colombian ace tried to take the slower automotive and Bomarito in a single go at Flip 2, however as a substitute thumped Bomarito right into a spin. Inevitably, he needed to serve a drive-through penalty.

However the PR1 Mathiasen automotive had misplaced a lot time within the spin, Montoya was capable of take his penalty and emerge solely two seconds behind. Montoya went round Bomarito to take the category lead with 12 minutes left on the clock, bashing into him once more as he handed exiting Flip 6. He then pulled away to win the category by 13.5s, ending seventh general. 

Core Autosport’s Jon Bennett and Colin Braun took the spoils in LMP3, ending 13th general and a lap forward of the JR III Racing machine of Garett Grist and Ari Balogh. 

#70 inception racing McLaren 720S GT3: Brendan Iribe, Frederik Schandorff

#70 inception racing McLaren 720S GT3: Brendan Iribe, Frederik Schandorff

Picture by: Jake Galstad / Motorsport Images

Inception Racing scored its first win within the class following after a shocking closing stint from Jordan Pepper within the group’s McLaren 720S, he shared with Brendan Iribe. 

Pepper closed in on the battle for the lead within the closing 20 minutes. The South African dispatched the Lexus of Aaron Telitz, earlier than latching onto the battle for first between the BMW M4 GT3s of Bill Auberlen and Bryan Sellers.

After passing Auberlen, Pepper nuzzled the tail of Sellers’ Turner BMW and on the lengthy drag right down to Flip four the McLaren moved forward. The 2 BMWs remained within the McLaren’s slipstream, however may do nothing to forestall Inception taking the category win.



Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

GoPro HD: Ryan Villopoto Main Event 2014 Monster Energy Supercross from Indianapolis
IMSA Sebring SuperSaturday on iRacing
McLaren Uncharted | Testing the Elements | #McLarenXE
17 hours to go!! | Catchup | TotalEnergies 24 Hours of Spa 2022
Norris needed to modify to 2022 McLaren F1 automobile that was “very unsuited for me”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.