Vanthoor, Weerts be part of BMW as 2023 works drivers - Motor Informed

Vanthoor, Weerts be part of BMW as 2023 works drivers

Belgians Vanthoor and Weerts fashioned a profitable duo at Audi group WRT within the GT World Problem Europe, taking three consecutive Dash Cup titles within the Audi R8 LMS in addition to an total title in 2021.

Together with the Vincent Vosse-led group, the pair have moved to BMW for 2023, defending the Bavarian brand’s colours in the GT World Challenge Europe and Intercontinental GT Challenge with the BMW M4 GT3.

Vanthoor and Weerts are the most recent additions to a 20-strong works roster that features fellow newcomer Rene Rast and BMW returnee Maxime Martin.

“We have now improved what was already a really sturdy squad of works drivers with Rene Rast, Maxime Martin, Dries Vanthoor and Charles Weerts,” mentioned Andreas Roos, head of BMW M Motorsport.

“On the group facet, we’re persevering with our collaborations, which have grown over a few years, together with with BMW M Staff RLL, BMW M Staff RMG and ROWE Racing.

“After all, we additionally plan to proceed with our DTM champion group Schubert Motorsport, though we weren’t capable of repair something but because of the present DTM state of affairs.

“We additionally welcome BMW M Staff WRT as a brand new BMW M Motorsport group. We face some thrilling sporting challenges in 2023 and the years to return, for which we want the perfect groups and drivers.”

Race winner #32 Team WRT Audi R8 LMS evo II GT: Charles Weerts, Dries Vanthoor

Race winner #32 Staff WRT Audi R8 LMS evo II GT: Charles Weerts, Dries Vanthoor

Photograph by: SRO

Vanthoor and Weerts are additionally anticipated to characterize BMW within the Nurburgring 24 Hours, a race which the youngest of the 2 Vanthoor brothers has already gained twice.

BMW’s largest problem in 2023 is the debut of its new LMP2-based BMW M Hybrid V8 LMDh automobile, which is able to enter competitors in subsequent month’s Daytona 24 Hours.

BMW M Staff RLL will field two new hybrid prototypes in IMSA’s rebranded GTP class, pushed by Connor De Phillippi, Nick Yelloly, Philipp Eng and Augusto Farfus.

Sheldon van der Linde and Marco Wittmann join the ranks at the endurance rounds at Daytona and Sebring, with IndyCar star Colton Herta additionally making an look at Daytona.



Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

FIA outlines plan for F1 race administrators in 2023
KTM uncovers up to date livery for 2023 MotoGP season
How F1’s greater wheels have impacted automotive designs
Pedrosa to make KTM MotoGP wildcard outing in Spanish GP
Ford: F1’s growth means it “requires consideration”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *