New High Gun group completes 35-car Indy 500 entry listing - Motor Informed

New High Gun group completes 35-car Indy 500 entry listing

The group co-owned by Gary Trout and Invoice Throckmorton had deliberate to enter the 500 in 2020, however deferred its entry by a 12 months when final 12 months’s race was held with out followers in attendance.

Enerson, who completed fourth in Indy Lights in 2015, has made 4 begins in IndyCar with Dale Coyne Racing and Carlin, the newest coming at Mid-Ohio in 2019 the place he completed 17th.

The 24-year-old, an Indy 500 rookie, has pushed for High Gun in IndyCar’s digital iRacing Problem occasion and made his testing bow with the group at Gateway earlier this week.

The Chevrolet-powered machine – one in all 17 within the subject, together with 18 Hondas – was wearing a livery evoking the 1970 Indy 500 profitable Vel’s Parnelli entry piloted by Al Unser Sr.

High Gun is one in all three groups which can be becoming a member of the IndyCar regulars for the 12 months’s greatest occasion.

Sage Karam has been entered by Dreyer & Reinbold Racing for its solely confirmed outing of the 12 months, whereas 2010 rookie of the 12 months Simona de Silvestro returns for the primary time since 2015 with the all-female-crewed Paretta Autosport entry, which has a technical alliance with Workforce Penske.

Additional extra entries embrace two-time winner Juan Pablo Montoya – one in all 9 earlier 500 victors, probably the most since 1992 – in a 3rd Arrow McLaren SP machine, Marco Andretti and Stefan Wilson at Andretti Autosport, rookie Pietro Fittipaldi (Dale Coyne with Rick Ware Racing), Charlie Kimball and JR Hildebrand at AJ Foyt Racing, Conor Daly (Ed Carpenter Racing) and Santino Ferrucci (Rahal Letterman Lanigan).

Fernando Alonso, McLaren Racing Chevrolet

Fernando Alonso, McLaren Racing Chevrolet

Picture by: Scott R LePage / Motorsport Images

Consequently, ‘bumping’ will return for the 2021 version of the race – with 33 entries permitted to begin – after simply 33 vehicles had been entered in 2020.

Fernando Alonso’s McLaren entry was memorably bumped from the sector in 2019 by a last-gasp effort from Juncos Racing driver Kyle Kaiser, whereas Marco Andretti bumped team-mate Ryan Hunter-Reay from the sector in 2011 earlier than Hunter-Reay’s backers reached a cope with AJ Foyt Racing to take over Bruno Junqueira’s one-off entry.

Workforce Penske drivers Al Unser Jr and Emerson Fittipaldi famously didn’t qualify in 1995.



Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Marquez arrives weakened on his favourite Sachsenring monitor
Nakagami doesn’t perceive his (double) race penalty
“Albon defined to me all the issues he had”
Solberg to compete in Safari Rally with Hyundai
Snetterton BTCC: Ingram beats Sutton to prime follow instances

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *