Mid-Ohio IndyCar: Power takes commanding win in race one, Dixon only 10th - Motor Informed

Mid-Ohio IndyCar: Power takes commanding win in race one, Dixon only 10th

Will Power claimed his first victory of the 2020 IndyCar season with a commanding victory in the opening race of the double-header weekend at Mid-Ohio.

Power scooped his 60th career pole earlier on Saturday and converted that qualifying advantage into an early race lead ahead of his Team Penske team-mate Josef Newgarden.

At the other end of the top 10, the third Penske of Simon Pagenaud spun after contact with Ed Carpenter Racing’s Rinus VeeKay and dropped to the back of the field on the opening lap.

Power, the 2014 IndyCar champion, faced no such problems with a faultless drive to his first win at Mid-Ohio and his first IndyCar victory since the Australian won the penultimate round of the 2019 season at Portland.

Newgarden finished in a distant second place, over seven seconds behind Power but just clear of a tense battle for the final place on the podium between Alexander Rossi and Graham Rahal.

Andretti Autosport’s Rossi (below) jumped his front-row starting team-mate Ryan Hunter-Reay at the final pitstop and fended off late-race pressure from Rahal to earn his second podium of a difficult 2020 campaign.

After a tough previous round at Gateway, Rahal returned to form with a fourth-place finish ahead of Hunter-Reay.

Mid-Ohio IndyCar: Power takes commanding win in race one, Dixon only 10th - Motor Informed

Felix Rosenqvist, who was denied a maiden IndyCar victory by his team-mate Scott Dixon at this circuit in 2019, came home in sixth place while Jack Harvey equalled his best result of the year in seventh.

VeeKay took eighth after a bold move around the outside of Colton Herta while the duo were attempting to pass the lapped Dalton Kellett.

Herta was forced to settle for ninth ahead of championship leader Dixon, who climbed from 17th on the grid to 11th in the first 10 laps of the race.

He struggled to make further progress thereafter and only ended up 10th at the chequered flag after ECR’s Conor Daly slowed on the final lap of the race and dropped to 13th.

Arrow McLaren SP’s Pato O’Ward stalled in the pits but recovered to finish in 11th place ahead of Super Formula convert Alex Palou.

With the whole race running under green flags, Pagenaud could only make a muted recovery drive to finish 18th.

Race one result – 75 laps

Pos Driver Team Car Gap
1 Will Power Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 1h29m08.9095s
2 Josef Newgarden Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 7.4523s
3 Alexander Rossi Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 8.9922s
4 Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Dallara/Honda 9.2323s
5 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 13.2281s
6 Felix Rosenqvist Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara/Honda 14.1171s
7 Jack Harvey Meyer Shank Racing Dallara/Honda 18.2198s
8 Rinus Van Kalmthout Ed Carpenter Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 19.2468s
9 Colton Herta Andretti Harding Dallara/Honda 26.0264s
10 Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara/Honda 32.7179s
11 Patricio O’Ward Arrow McLaren SP Dallara/Chevrolet 33.6137s
12 Alex Palou Dale Coyne Racing Dallara/Honda 34.4767s
13 Conor Daly Ed Carpenter Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 39.3069s
14 Santino Ferrucci Dale Coyne Racing with Vasser Sullivan Dallara/Honda 42.9962s
15 Marcus Ericsson Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara/Honda 43.6952s
16 Max Chilton Carlin Dallara/Chevrolet 44.4717s
17 Takuma Sato Rahal Letterman Lanigan Dallara/Honda 45.8415s
18 Simon Pagenaud Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 46.2387s
19 Oliver Askew Arrow McLaren SP Dallara/Chevrolet 1m08.4106s
20 Zach Veach Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 1 Lap
21 Charlie Kimball A.J. Foyt Enterprises Dallara/Chevrolet 1 Lap
22 Dalton Kellett A.J. Foyt Enterprises Dallara/Chevrolet 1 Lap
23 Marco Andretti Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 1 Lap

Drivers’ standings

Pos Driver Points
1 Scott Dixon 436
2 Josef Newgarden 360
3 Patricio O’Ward 316
4 Takuma Sato 290
5 Will Power 280
6 Colton Herta 274
7 Graham Rahal 268
8 Simon Pagenaud 249
9 Felix Rosenqvist 236
10 Santino Ferrucci 232
11 Ryan Hunter-Reay 225
12 Jack Harvey 207
13 Rinus Van Kalmthout 204
14 Marcus Ericsson 199
15 Alexander Rossi 190
16 Conor Daly 182
17 Alex Palou 178
18 Oliver Askew 166
19 Charlie Kimball 159
20 Zach Veach 153
21 Marco Andretti 143
22 Tony Kanaan 106
23 James Hinchcliffe 88
24 Max Chilton 82
25 Ed Carpenter 81
26 Dalton Kellett 47
27 Helio Castroneves 38
28 J.R. Hildebrand 28
29 Sage Karam 19
30 Fernando Alonso 18
31 Spencer Pigot 17
32 Ben Hanley 14
33 James Davison 10

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

The stats for the 2021 season – GP Inside
Fuji Tremendous GT: Actual Racing Honda holds on to win after late drama
Bottas and the rumor of a mid-season substitute: “Bullshit”
Where does BMW stand in the WSBK season 2021?
A Lap Around Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *