McLaren to present GT contract to greatest DDP driver in 2022 British GT - Motor Informed

McLaren to present GT contract to greatest DDP driver in 2022 British GT

The McLaren DDP programme, first run in 2018, entails 4 drivers being positioned with a associate crew within the British GT Championship’s GT4 division, break up into two automobile crews.

The programme was managed in 2018 and 2019 by Tolman Motorsport, then by Crew Rocket RJN in 2021 after a one-year hiatus for the scheme throughout the COVID-delayed 2020 season.

Autosport understands that McLaren is at present tendering for its associate squad to run the programme in 2022.

A complete of 14 drivers featured in a two-day analysis organised by McLaren at Snetterton final week, with manufacturing facility drivers Rob Bell, Ben Barnicoat, Joe Osborne and Euan Hankey readily available as mentors.

The candidates had two free apply periods on Tuesday in a McLaren 570S GT4, then a qualifying run and a race run on Wednesday.

The drivers have been additionally subjected to simulator and health assessments at iZone Driver Efficiency, with media interviews included as a part of the analysis channels.

Among the many drivers vying for choice have been Bailey Voisin, who received the 2021 GT4 European championship with McLaren buyer squad United Autosport, and Ginetta Junior champion Aston Millar, whereas two drivers which have received British GT races in McLarens – Gus Bowers (2020 Donington) and James Kell (2021 Snetterton) – have been additionally current.

Harry Hayek / Katie Milner - Team Rocket RJN McLaren 570S GT4

Harry Hayek / Katie Milner – Crew Rocket RJN McLaren 570S GT4

The 2019 World and 2020 European karting champion Marijn Kremers, who received the Jacques Villeneuve-backed FEED Racing shootout in 2019 and was as a result of race in British F4 with Carlin final 12 months earlier than switching to the French collection, and 2020 British GT runner-up with TF Sport Patrick Kibble have been among the many different intriguing names on the listing.

The perfect consequence scored by this 12 months’s DDP drivers, Michael Benyahia/Alain Valente and Harry Hayek/Katie Milner, was a second for the Moroccan/Swiss pair within the two-hour Donington finale after they’d beforehand been denied victory by a puncture at Snetterton.

2022 McLaren DDP candidates
Seb Alvarez
Gus Bowers
Tom Edgar
James Kell
Patrick Kibble
Marijn Kremers
Pierre Livingston
Aston Millar
Gordie Mutch
Tom Rawlings
Moh Ritson
Bailey Voisin
Alex Walker
Lydia Walmsley



Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

“When Frank Williams calls me, how can I say no?”
Vinales not but utterly relaxed on Aprilia
Razali sees Dovizioso play the title – GP Inside
again on the Rufea observe
D-100! – GP Inside

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *