Luke Browning wins Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Younger Driver of the 12 months - Motor Informed

Luke Browning wins Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Younger Driver of the 12 months

The 20-year-old Briton will obtain £200,000, a take a look at in an Aston Martin Aramco Cognizant Method 1 automobile, full British Racing Drivers’ Membership membership and an Arai helmet as his prize.

Browning beat fellow finalists Ollie Bearman, Jamie Chadwick and Louis Foster to turn into the 33rd winner of the Award, which goals to seek out and enhance rising British single-seater racers.

He was introduced because the winner on the prestigious Autosport Awards at Grosvenor Home on Park Lane, and obtained his prize from 1992 Award winner and triple Indianapolis 500 winner Dario Franchitti, four-time Method 1 world champion Sebastian Vettel and Autosport’s chief editor Kevin Turner.

An elated Browning stated: “Unbelievable! It was actually particular to see all of the names within the room, so as to add my identify to the checklist… Phrases cannot describe.

“It is a testomony to the blokes of the onerous work they put into me, I am so grateful. Thanks.”

Browning turned the primary driver to assert the British F4 and GB3 crowns when he scored 5 wins with Hitech Grand Prix and secured the 2022 GB3 title at October’s Donington Park finale.

After health exams with Athletic Pondering and simulator evaluation with the Mercedes-AMG Petronas F1 Crew, the 4 Award finalists spent two days at Silverstone. They drove MotorSport Imaginative and prescient Method 2, Beechdean Motorsport-run Aston Martin Vantage GT3 and United Autosports Ligier LMP3 equipment on the Grand Prix circuit.

Extra: How to win the Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Award

Luke Browning

Luke Browning

Photograph by: Andrew Ferraro / Motorsport Images

Browning joins an illustrious checklist of earlier winners of the Award, which started in 1989, that features 2009 F1 world champion Jenson Button, 13-time grand prix winner David Coulthard, present F1 drivers Lando Norris and George Russell and 2014 World Endurance champion Anthony Davidson.

The 2022 Award judging panel was led by ex-F1 driver and BRDC vice-president Derek Warwick. The opposite judges have been four-time IndyCar champion Franchitti, profitable McLaren and Lola designer Mark Williams, Le Mans-winning engineer Leena Gade, Aston Martin growth driver and 1996 Award winner Darren Turner, GT workforce boss and 1997 Award winner Andrew Kirkaldy, Cadillac LMDh driver and 2008 Award winner Alexander Sims, skilled commentator Ian Titchmarsh and Autosport’s chief editor Kevin Turner.

All of the winners

1989 David Coulthard
1990 Gareth Rees
1991 Oliver Gavin
1992 Dario Franchitti
1993 Ralph Firman Jr
1994 Jamie Davies
1995 Jonny Kane
1996 Darren Turner
1997 Andrew Kirkaldy
1998 Jenson Button
1999 Gary Paffett
2000 Anthony Davidson
2001 Steven Kane
2002 Jamie Inexperienced
2003 Alex Lloyd
2004 Paul di Resta
2005 Oliver Jarvis
2006 Oliver Turvey
2007 Stefan Wilson
2008 Alexander Sims
2009 Dean Smith
2010 Lewis Williamson
2011 Oliver Rowland
2012 Jake Dennis
2013 Matt Parry
2014 George Russell
2015 Will Palmer
2016 Lando Norris
2017 Dan Ticktum
2018 Tom Gamble
2019 Johnathan Hoggard
2021 Zak O’Sullivan
2022 Luke Browning

Different awards determined by skilled judging panels embody the Gold Medal for lifetime legacy, Gregor Grant Award for lifetime achievement, Motorsport Promoter of the 12 months, and Esports Crew of the 12 months introduced by Motorsport Games. Second of the 12 months introduced by Bang & Olufsen and Autosport Williams Engineer of the Future are awards which have returned for 2022.

Additional classes, that are determined by fan voting, embody Worldwide Racing Driver of the 12 months introduced by Pirelli, Worldwide Rally Driver of the 12 months, British Competitors Driver of the 12 months, Rookie of the 12 months, Worldwide Racing Automotive of the 12 months introduced by Blink Expertise, Rally Automotive of the 12 months, Nationwide Driver of the 12 months and Esports Driver of the 12 months introduced by Motorsport Games.

To search out out who our different Award winners are, go to



Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

KTM uncovers up to date livery for 2023 MotoGP season
F1 champion Button “undoubtedly ” in NASCAR highway course outings
Steiner: Haas F1 2022 rollercoaster higher than “simply downs” of 2021
LMP2 winner Allen ‘wasn’t respiratory’ in Daytona 24 picture end
Ellis named as alternative for injured Auer in Bathurst 12 Hour

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *