IMSA Laguna Seca: Ganassi Cadillac holds off Tandy Porsche for victory - Motor Informed

IMSA Laguna Seca: Ganassi Cadillac holds off Tandy Porsche for victory

On the drop of the inexperienced, the 2 Porsche Penske Motorsports 963 of Matt Campbell and Mathieu Jaminet locked up at Flip 2. Each Campbell and Jaminet ran vast, permitting the fast-starting Colin Braun (Meyer Shank Racing Acura) to get into the lead, adopted by Pipo Derani (Motion Specific Racing Cadillac V-Sequence.R).

Jaminet recovered to say third forward of the 2 BMW M Hybrid V8s of Connor De Phillippi and Philipp Eng, and Ricky Taylor’s Wayne Taylor Racing Acura. Campbell fell to seventh forward of Bourdais’ Chip Ganassi Racing Cadillac and Tijmen van der Helm within the new JDC-Miller MotorSport Porsche 963.

After Campbell nudged Jarett Andretti’s Aston Martin into an accident at pitlane entry, all 9 GTP automobiles pitted, and chief Braun dropped to seventh having taken each gasoline and tyres. Derani now led De Phillippi, Bourdais, Eng and van der Helm. In the meantime, Porsche’s day received worse as Campbell was given a drive-through penalty for the incident with Andretti.

Braun elbowed his well beyond Eng’s BMW on Lap 33 on the climb from Flip 5 to Flip 6, and the BMW’s lack of momentum allowed Filipe Albuquerque (WTR Acura) and Jaminet to additionally lever their method by to demote the #24 BMW to seventh.

With 1h42m to go, John Farano crashed the Tower Motorsports LMP2 automotive at Flip 5, packing the sphere again up. All GTP automobiles hit pitlane, and MSR gave Braun gasoline solely, so his Acura took the lead forward of Derani and Albuquerque.

Nick Tandy took over the #6 Porsche to emerge in fourth, forward of the #25 BMW now steered by Nick Yelloly, and the #7 Porsche now pushed by Felipe Nasr. Renger van der Zande changed Bourdais within the Ganassi Cadillac, forward of Augusto Farfus’ #24 BMW and Mike Rockenfeller’s JDCM Porsche.

Derani stored the strain on Braun and, on the second lap after the restart, he handed the MSR Acura at Flip Three to hit the entrance. Additional again, the #7 Porsche of Nasr went off exiting the Corkscrew quickly after passing Tandy, and the influence was exhausting sufficient to ship him into the pits for repairs.

Tandy dropped to fifth behind van der Zande, who discovered himself stacked behind the 2 Acuras. Van der Zande then handed Albuquerque to say third and closed on the struggling Braun. As soon as he demoted Braun, Albuquerque adopted him by.

So with 70m left it was a Cadillac 1-2, with Derani and van der Zande operating 14s aside. Tandy grabbed fourth from Braun into Flip 2 on lap 55, with the BMWs additionally demoting the struggling MSR machine. Yelloly was on a roll and demoted Tandy for fourth with simply over an hour remaining.

That triggered Tandy to pit, after which Derani stopped as properly, handing the automotive to Alexander Sims with a 20s lead. The remainder adopted shortly after, with Tom Blomqvist changing Braun within the MSR Acura.

The final of them to pit – CGR’s Caddy and the BMWs – received in simply earlier than IMSA threw the fourth full course warning for Aaron Telitz parking the Lexus RC F within the wall on the surface of the ultimate nook.

For the restart with 41m to go, Sims led van der Zande, with Yelloly, Tandy, Albuquerque and Farfus finishing the highest six. Van der Zande went across the exterior of Sims at Flip Three to seize the lead.

Tandy then prised third place from Yelloly. Ten minutes later, Albuquerque additionally received across the #25 BMW, as Yelloly dropped down the order.

Tandy handed Sims for second with 1 / 4 of an hour to go, and now had four.4s to shut on van der Zande. Though the hole fluctuated in site visitors, van der Zande’s successful margin was Three.8s on the flag.

Sims was an extra seven seconds adrift however over 10s away from the WTR Acura.


Ben Keating of PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports took the lead initially of the race from George Kurtz’s Crowdstrike Racing by APR entry, forward of Steven Thomas of TDS Racing.

Nevertheless, with 25m to go, Kurtz’s co-driver Ben Hanley tipped Ryan Dalziel’s Period Motorsports automotive right into a half-spin on the entrance straight, permitting Mikkel Jensen to take the win for TDS Racing.

#9: Pfaff Motorsports, Porsche 911 GT3 R (992), GTD PRO: Klaus Bachler, Patrick Pilet

#9: Pfaff Motorsports, Porsche 911 GT3 R (992), GTD PRO: Klaus Bachler, Patrick Pilet

Photograph by: Perry Nelson / Motorsport Images

GTD Professional and GTD

Klaus Bachler’s GTD Professional Pfaff Motorsports Porsche 911 GT3 R led the GT subject, with Roman de Angelis in shut pursuit within the lead pro-am GTD automotive, the Coronary heart of Racing Aston Martin Vantage.

That was chased by two extra GTD Professional automobiles, the WeatherTech Racing Mercedes of Daniel Juncadella and Alex Riberas within the second HoR Aston. Alec Udell’s Kellymoss with Riley Porsche was subsequent up, forward of Jordan Taylor’s Corvette and Madison Snow’s Paul Miller Racing BMW M4.

After a yellow Bachler jumped the crimson gentle at pit exit – for which he would obtain a cease and 60sec maintain penalty – so it was Taylor’s Corvette that took the lead in GTD Professional class forward Jack Hawksworth’s Lexus.

Following the third yellow, Kellymoss with Riley ran 1-2, with Alec Udell forward of Kay van Berlo having simply pitted earlier than the yellow, they usually had been chased by the Turner M4s of Invoice Auberlen and Robbie Foley. In GTD Professional, Alex Riberas’ HoR Aston led forward of Antonio Garcia who was now within the Corvette.

Udell needed to pit with 63m to go, van Berlo stopping subsequent time by, leaving Turner and Paul Miller to run 1-2-Three for BMW simply briefly till they pitted too.

Andy Lally led GTD for Magnus Racing (Aston), forward of van Berlo and Auberlen, whereas Ross Gunn led GTD Professional forward of Garcia. Nevertheless, the latter pair had blown the wave-by guidelines below yellow and needed to pit for stop-and-hold penalties.

That left Jules Gounon’s WeatherTech Mercedes main GTD Professional, forward of the sooner penalized Pfaff Porsche and the #14 Lexus, albeit in 12th by 14th general in GT. Van Berlo handed Lally after a barely bodily confrontation with 20m to go, and shortly Lally additionally had to surrender second to Auberlen. With below 10m to go, Lally additionally misplaced third to Julian Andlauer (in for Udell).

Van Berlo gained GTD by 10s forward of Auberlen who had two seconds in hand over Andlauer.

Gounon took GTD Professional victory by eight seconds from the #14 Lexus, as Ben Barnicoat nipped Patrick Pilet for second by a mere zero.2s.

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

New Detroit observe “extra like Lengthy Seashore than Belle Isle”, says Ferrucci
Isle of Man TT 2023: Harrison ups the tempo at halfway level of apply week
KTM: “Needing to really feel vital” has “motivated” Miller in MotoGP 2023
How Mercedes made itself look “foolish” with Hamilton-Russell collision
Piastri discovered from following Verstappen in moist Monaco GP

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *