IMS IndyCar: O’Ward takes pole as rookie Lundgaard stars on debut - Motor Informed

IMS IndyCar: O’Ward takes pole as rookie Lundgaard stars on debut

Arrow McLaren SP driver O’Ward, who enters the weekend third within the standings, pipped Workforce Penske driver Will Energy by simply zero.006s in a remarkably tight Firestone Quick 12 session.

The polesitter in IndyCar’s final go to to the monitor in Might, Romain Grosjean took third for Dale Coyne Racing with Rick Ware as Rahal Letterman Lanigan rookie Lundgaard adopted up his promising follow type with a powerful fourth quickest time.

Ed Carpenter Racing’s Rinus VeeKay, who broke his duck in Might, was quickest within the session’s early runs on main tyres earlier than instances tumbled as drivers switched to the red-walled softer compound rubber.

Virtually everybody’s quickest laps got here on their second flyers and it was O’Ward who emerged on high with a 1min10.714s lap, regardless of practically spinning at Flip 10 on his flyer.

Energy, quickest in his qualifying group, was denied his 63rd pole place by the smallest of margins, with the 2014 champion’s workforce unsuccessful in lobbying the stewards that O’Ward had held him up.

Grosjean was zero.027s off the tempo in third, simply zero.001s forward of Lundgaard, the 20-year-old Components 2 common having come into the weekend with just one check at Barber Motorsports Park underneath his belt.

Colton Herta was quickest of the Andretti Autosport drivers in fifth, beating championship chief and main Chip Ganassi Racing driver Alex Palou into sixth.

Will Power, Team Penske Chevrolet

Will Energy, Workforce Penske Chevrolet

Photograph by: IndyCar Sequence

Eight totally different groups occupied as many positions, as circuit specialist Jack Harvey claimed seventh for Meyer-Shank Racing, as Conor Daly (Ed Carpenter Racing) edged Might’s IMS street course winner Rinus VeeKay for eighth place.

Alexander Rossi (Andretti) failed to duplicate his type in topping the second group qualifying session forward of Lundgaard and Palou, and will solely handle the tenth quickest time.

The highest 12 was accomplished by Nashville winner Marcus Ericsson (Ganassi) and Simon Pagenaud (Penske), as a number of excessive profile names didn’t progress from the primary a part of qualifying.

Reigning champion Scott Dixon (Ganassi) misplaced his finest lap after a spin and can begin 26th.

O’Ward’s team-mate Felix Rosenqvist beat Grosjean into fourth within the second group session, but additionally misplaced his finest time when he drove tempo unabated by way of yellow flags introduced out by Dixon, leaving the second Arrow McLaren SP driver down in 19th.

One other shock elimination was two-time champion Josef Newgarden (Penske), who caught Andretti driver James Hinchcliffe at an inconvenient second on his flyer. He’s already consigned to a six-place grid penalty and can begin 20th.

Quick 12 qualifying outcomes



Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Bagnaia moved after a primary success conquered in type
F1 Italian GP: Ricciardo leads McLaren 1-2, Verstappen and Hamilton collide
Misano MotoGP: Bagnaia takes pole in crash-strewn qualifying
SS13 & 14 – Rovanperä tames Tarzan and rushes to victory
“Michele Pirro reference within the first free observe”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *